Five Minute Friday: Listen

donkey look

(Yes, it is not Friday but I spent these five minutes writing about ‘Listen’ anyways.)

Ears twitching, shifting front to back, searching for details in the sound in a tentative manner.
An acquired skill that requires attention and practice for many.

I often decide to simply sit and listen, to nature or silence, when I need to relax. Even in silence there are faint sounds. Hums, distant rings, air or creeks and cracks of the house adjusting. Isn’t it interesting how differently one person to the next hear silence? I do feel that certain types of silence can be quite frightening. I am also infuriated and/or sadened when given the ‘silent treatment’ as opposed to talking and acknowledged listening.

I am working on active listening with my toddler. She seems to listen better and have more positive actions when I get down to her level, look in her eyes and repeat what I heard her say followed by what I need her to do and why. This is actually effective during mild meltdowns!
We tried sign language before she started talking. What a great concentration skill for those of us who don’t need it as our primary communication.

My favorite things to listen to are my daughter talking with toys while playing by herself, rain, ocean waves, wind in the trees and birds. I also have to say a Spanish guitar.

Those are my Five Minutes on the prompt “Listen”.
Every Friday The Gypsy Mama posts a word prompt. For five minutes you set the clock and write, unscripted without worry of grammar mistakes or if anyone will even read it. Just because we love to write.

www.lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday/

https://bubblemomentpages.wordpress.com/2013/05/31/five-minute-friday-imagine/

 https://bubblemomentpages.wordpress.com/2013/06/15/daily-prompt-s…in-in-the-rain/

 https://bubblemomentpages.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/beauty-in-hesitation/

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Listen

  1. Pingback: Listening with Love~ | A Moment with Mysti

  2. I like the idea of getting on her level and making sure she’s with you. Smart!!

    We did sign language, too. Still useful now that they’re older, when Mama is across the room and needs to make a correction. We use stop, and no, still now. Thanks for sharing!

    Jen (visiting from Lisa Jo, and I, too, am a a Friday delinquent poster 🙂

Tell me what you think

