Monday Motivator; Let’s Party like it’s 1989

dad1

Or 69, 78, 99…
It is officially ‘May 2 4’ weekend in Canada. This is a time that marks the beginning of warm nights, patio catch up and camping with friends and anyone who ends up at your site.

I, on the other hand, have not celebrated this holiday in that way for many years. Now all I can think is “will the fireworks display and it’s cheering onlookers being performed across the street wake up my baby”. Am I uptight?
I feel I have just gotten caught up in schedules and being the responsible mother. I haven’t focused much on being me; all sides of me. It’s not just that, some things feel like more of a hassle; like if there’s excessive travel time or if nothing is guaranteed.
Who out there feels this is going on in their lives?
I say we just let go, within adult reason, and roll with the punches in a more carefree manner.

How often do we give up an opportunity to listen to that part of ourselves that wants a bit of what we had?
How often do you catch yourself holding back?
Why? I’ve said it before; everything in moderation. In each stage of life we change, adapt, grow and hopefully become better versions of ourselves. So, why do many mothers hold back.

‘Back in the day’ I would get a phone call asking to go away for the weekend and have my bag packed then leave all within 20 minutes. ‘Back in the day’ I would put all my house cleaning on hold for days to go check out a concert, have lunch with a friend, spend hours walking with my camera and some music or read a book under a tree in the park.
‘Back in the day’ always seems to refer to a time of no rules, letting loose and a time with more unconventional options to experience. ‘Back in the day’ should reflect 2 weeks ago, not a century! That’s not how it works though is it. Some things should stay back in the day. Those 80’s haircuts and clothes, for example.

I’m going to take this day and run with it. It’s okay if my daughter breaks her routine to experience fireworks. Having wine on a Monday, Wednesday or Sunday afternoon is the ‘r’ in relaxation.

Let’s live now. Not yesterday! Let’s teach our children what true happiness looks like.
I’m easy-going; ‘then talk the talk’. I’ll try anything once; ‘well walk the walk’.
Always wondered about a nightly event; go check it out. Try something out of your comfort zone.

I’d love to hear what you tried!! No matter how simple, it’s all good!

Tell me what you think

