Monday Motivator; Unconditionally Family

mum1

Portrait of you, Mum

(An image of you; part of a new photography compilation project of mine, “Portraits”)

I had plans of posting something for my Mum yesterday. I thought about it and decided that some of what I had to say could transpire into a Monday Motivator of family appreciation. A simple gesture to a family member you don’t keep in regular contact with. The value of your family name has a deeper meaning than which signature you sign. It’s a history, a story and a group of people with common traits living to make good of a bloodline.

The saying says that the Mom is the glue that keeps family together. This really is true of my Mum. She keeps everyone informed, stays in touch, plans events and consults her book for every birthday.
If you need it, she will provide. You would give your last dollar or last anything to someone if they truly needed it.
You’ve always worked hard, Mum. I remember you working, exercising, cooking from scratch, cleaning and hardly sitting down. You always try your best.
I haven’t always had you close. When divorce hits a family, everything uproots. I remember not seeing you or my brother for years. I know you feel guilty, but don’t. Life happens. It’s water under a small bridge. I don’t feel that marriages should always stay together for the sake of the children.

Family can be tricky yet some of the best medicine. Many years could pass but, with most families, the ties that bind are endless in forgiveness and unconditional love. Personally, I feel true connection and a type of duty to family; even whom I have never met. My genealogy fascinates me and defines parts of ourselves that can’t be explained otherwise.
I urge people who are the slightest bit curious about their history to do a little research. The internet makes it more manageable and accessible.

Mum, your laugh is loud and full of rawness. Your eyes not only show how deeply and frequently you laugh, but they sparkle. You tell it like it is. Your british based humor is both off the wall and charming all in the same breath. You brush your hair back off your face with your fingers to keep the shape of your style. I love how excited you get when you find a great magazine, knitting pattern or gift. You wear your heart on your sleeve a lot of the time and it makes you more beautiful. You’re known to be the worry-wort. When you tell a story, boy is it ever a story; with nothing left out.
“Dawn, David, Fred, George”; you’ll get the name right eventually.

I see more and more of myself in you as we have become great friends in our mother daughter relationship over the past years; this is a wonderful realization. It has been told to me many a time that you look much younger than you are; hopefully I also inherit that from you.

So, my Mum, I want you to know how deeply I adore and appreciate everything that you are. I wish I could heal any pain or difficulty you ever have had. You have given me all that you can and I am grateful.
It is the hardest thing to swallow; watching your parents get older. It’s hard to see them struggle, get tired. Nevertheless, I will not look away. My parents are a part of me and deserve everything I can give.
I am proud to call them family.
Mum, I love you. All my love, Dawn.

Think about what your family means to you this week. Write a letter of love; or maybe it is time for you to put water under the bridge in a certain relationship. Sure, everyone has annoyances or stories rather forgotten. Be the bigger person for the sake of next generations and living surrounded by blood relatives.
Show the value of the simple traditions within your family. Share.

I hope your family grows or reconnects today. Will it start with you?

One thought on “Monday Motivator; Unconditionally Family

  1. Pingback: The deeper side of life | #postunaaaay

Tell me what you think

